SCJW Scholarship Funds

The Pauline A. Asinof Fund, the council's first, was started by the family in 1943 to honor the memory of Pauline Asinof, one of the past presidents and founders of the Springfield Section of the National Council of Jewish Women.

Bernerd and Eleanore Dunn Memorial Scholarship Fund. Eleanore, Pauline's daughter, was a scholarship committee member for 60 years and the Chair of its Strategic Leadership subcommittee. She and her family established many funds including this fund, originally established in memory of her husband Bernerd. It was renamed to include her when she passed away in 2012. Eleanore also established a fund for an annual breakfast to honor the award recipients and quietly arranged for lunches for the day-long scholarship deliberation meetings continuing a family tradition begun by her father. He always bought the committee members lunch to thank them for their hard work and dedication.

Maurice L., Selden E., and Herbert M. Goldstein Scholarship Fund was established by friends and family in memory of Maurice L. Goldstein. Later the upon the passing of Selden and Herbert Goldstein, the fund name was changed to include them.

Bertha B. Kittredge, Alfred H. Webber, Ralph G. Webber Scholarship Fund. This fund was established in 1973 by the members of the Kittredge and Webber families in loving memory of their mother. Upon the passing of Alfred and Ralph Webber, the fund name has been updated to memorialize these individuals.

Gertrude (Gerry) and Stanley Asinof Fund – Gerry Asinof was president of the Springfield Section of the National Council of Jewish Women from 1958 to 1960 and continued her family's strong commitment to providing scholarship funds for deserving students.

Leah Ruth Chase Fund – This fund was established by Mr. and Mrs. Alvin Chase in memory of their daughter. In keeping with the family's wishes preference is given to students interested in a career in social work, education or community service.

Harry and Claire Edelson Fund – This fund was chosen as a way to continue the community spirit of Harry and Claire Edelson, who were committed to making a college education a reality for an outstanding student.

Maurice and Eunice Elion Fund – Begun in 1985, this fund was established to honor Maurice and Eunice Elion, in recognition of their many civic and philanthropic endeavors in the community.

Ann B. Frank Fund – Established by Mr. and Mrs. Irving Rabb in memory of their mother who was a charter member of the Springfield Section of the National Council of Jewish Women and was committed to the scholarship program.

Lucie Freedman Award – Begun in 1964, this fund was endowed by friends and family and a bequest from the will of Lucie Friedman, a past president of the Springfield Section of the National Council of Jewish Women and the treasurer of the Scholarship Committee from its inception until 1964.

Ida & Louis, Milton & Edith Katz Fund – Created originally in memory of Milton and Edith Katz's parents who were philanthropists and founders of Kodimoh Synagogue and the Jewish Home for the Aged. Edith Katz is a past president of the Section and honorary member of the scholarship committee.

Gary Jennison Fund – Established by Mr. Jennison, a former award recipient, to provide funding for other deserving students to attend college.

Weltman Family Fund – Begun in 1965 this fund was established by friends and family of Sol Weltman, a guiding figure who provided counsel and promoted the aims of the Springfield Section of the National Council of Jewish Women throughout the community.

Potter (Vera, Leon, Ivan), Sloane (Julia, Homer W.), Slutskin (Sofia, Maurice) Family Memorial Scholarship Fund. This scholarship is in recognition of the family's commitment to Jewish values, and, particularly, to higher education. Initiated by Vera Potter in memory of her father, Dr. Maurice Slutskin, the first Jewish physician in Springfield, the fund name has been expanded to memorialize other family members.

Ruth K. Webber Memorial Scholarship Fund. A past president of the SCJW Scholarship Committee, Ruth Webber was instrumental in moving the funds to the Jewish Endowment Foundation (JEF) where she served as the first Chairperson of the SCJW (as a committee of JEF). She continued to be an active member of the committee until her passing in 2011. She and her family established the Bertha B. Kittredge, Alfred H. Webber, Ralph G. Webber Scholarship Fund which has grown to be the largest of the SCJW scholarship funds, providing more than \$9,000 a year for awards.